Like other mental illnesses, depression is relatively unknown and poorly understood. In many cases, people going through depression are blamed for their suffering („he should pull himself together“). Friends and acquaintances often disengage, wrongly assuming that only doctors and psychologists have a role to play in recovery.

Not every person who experiences depression necessarily has the same symptoms. For some, a lack of energy and drive dominates, but for others, it is internal agitation. In general, one experiences a profound sadness and strong apathy, accompanied by a feeling of inner emptiness.

Depression is one of the most common diseases and also one of the most underdiagnosed. Around twenty million people suffer from depression in Europe each year. One out of every five will suffer from depression at least once during their lives.

Today, depression can be effectively treated with psychotherapy and/or medication. However, depression is underdiagnosed, so unfortunately these treatment methods are still rarely used. Psychotherapy teaches people strategies that enable them to manage problems in various ways.

Everyone can feel sad, discouraged, or downhearted. Common examples include when facing stressful social situations, disease, and difficult, tragic events. However, we only speak of depression if these symptoms persist for at least two weeks and prevent someone from doing the things they normally do and that bring them joy.

Self-Management Resources

Healthy Eating, Physical Activity, Positive Social Contact, ...

Recognize a depression

Do the SELFTEST

Getting Help

Assistance services

FAQ - frequently asked questions

All the answers to your questions

This website is part of the national awareness campaign on depression, launched on 28 November 2017. The campaign is part of the implementation of the National Suicide Prevention Plan for Luxembourg (2015 to 2019) and has several objectives:

  1. Improve knowledge about depression in the general public. The campaign intends to inform about the symptoms, causes, and treatment of depression and to encourage care seeking. Even though depression is one of the most prevalent mental illnesses, there is little awareness of it among the general public, and it is often poorly understood. Depression can affect anyone: people at any age, in any profession, and in any social class; men, women, and also children.
  2. Create awareness that depression is a serious mental illness. Everyone can feel sad, discouraged, or downhearted, but that does not mean that they are suffering from depression. Continuous, severe depression can cause great suffering and affects every area of life: daily tasks, professional obligations, leisure activities, and social interactions. At its worst, depression can lead to suicide. About 70% of those who died from suicide suffered from depression. There is broad consensus that depression is one of the most common diseases and also one of the most underdiagnosed.
  3. Reduce stigmatization and discrimination associated with depression. Prejudice too often associates depression with a personal weakness rather than a real illness. This can discourage people going through depression from asking for help, getting information, accepting the diagnosis, and following a treatment. Prevailing prejudices against depression are to be reduced by means of targeted and proper information.

The "Depression – Let's Talk” awareness campaign includes, in addition to the website, five different posters, an information booklet about the disease, flyers on busses, banners deployed on various websites, a roadshow, and postcards to send to the people we care about to remember the little things that can help improve the mood. Print media are available in five languages (Luxembourgish, French, German, English and Portuguese) and can be ordered free of charge from the Service Information et Prevention of the Ligue.

We wish you interesting insights into the topic of depression on our website and remain open to any suggestions from you.

The Information and Prevention Service team

Prévention Dépression Luxembourg

Wie bei allen Krankheiten benötigen auch an einer Depression erkrankte Personen von ihrer Umgebung Verständnis und Unterstützung. Einfach da sein und zuhören kann einer betroffenen Person helfen, sich weniger einsam zu fühlen und zu ihrer Gesundung beitragen.

Nicht alle, die an einer Depression erkranken, leiden unter denselben Symptomen. Bei manchen überwiegen der fehlende Antrieb und Schwung, bei anderen eine rastlose innere Unruhe. Der Schweregrad ist unterschiedlich, bis hin zum völligen Erliegen des normalen Alltags.

Depressionen gehören zu den häufigsten und am meisten unterschätzten Erkrankungen. Etwa jeder Fünfte erkrankt einmal im Leben an einer Depression. Sie kann jeden treffen: Menschen aller Altersgruppen, Berufe und sozialer Lagen, Männer, Frauen und auch Kinder.

Dank psychotherapeutischer Verfahren und medikamentöser Therapie können Depressionen heute erfolgreich behandelt werden. Leider kommen diese Behandlungsmethoden jedoch zu selten zum Einsatz, weil Depressionen häufig übersehen werden.

Depression wird in der Öffentlichkeit wenig wahrgenommen und oft missverstanden. Wie Diabetes oder eine Lungenentzündung hat eine Depression ihre Ursachen, Symptome und Behandlungsmöglichkeiten. Sie ist keine Einbildung, kein Ausdruck persönlichen Versagens und auch kein unabwendbares Schicksal.

Selbstmanagement-Ressourcen

Gesunde Ernährung, Positive soziale Kontakte, Tagesplanung, ...

Depression erkennen

SELBSTTEST Depression

Hilfsadressen

Hilfsdienste und Beratungseinrichtungen

FAQ - Häufig gestellte Fragen

Antworten zu Ihren Fragen

Diese Website ist Bestandteil der nationalen Sensibilisierungskampagne zum Thema Depression, die am 28. November 2017 gestartet wurde. Die Kampagne ist Teil der Umsetzung des Plan National de Prévention du Suicide für Luxemburg (2015 – 2019) und verfolgt mehrere Ziele:

  1. Das Wissen über Depression in der Bevölkerung erweitern. Die Kampagne möchte zur Aufklärung über diese Erkrankung beitragen. Sie enthält Informationen über die Anzeichen, Symptome und Ursachen einer Depression, so dass es leichter wird, eine Depression rechtzeitig zu erkennen und angemessene Hilfe zu bekommen. Depression wird in der Öffentlichkeit oft missverstanden und häufig übersehen. Sie kann jeden treffen: Menschen aller Altersgruppen, Berufe und sozialer Lagen, Männer, Frauen und auch Kinder.
  2. Ein Bewusstsein schaffen, dass Depression eine ernstzunehmende psychische Erkrankung ist. Die meisten Menschen fühlen sich von Zeit zu Zeit traurig, aber das bedeutet noch lange nicht, dass sie an einer Depression leiden. Eine andauernde, schwere Depression kann starkes Leiden verursachen und alle Lebensbereiche beeinträchtigen: alltägliche Aufgaben, berufliche Verpflichtungen, Freizeitaktivitäten, Familie, soziale Kontakte. Im schlimmsten Fall kann eine Depression zu Suizid führen. Etwa 70% aller durch Suizid verstorbenen Menschen in der Allgemeinbevölkerung haben zum Zeitpunkt ihres Suizides an einer depressiven Störung gelitten. Einigkeit besteht darin, dass Depressionen zu den häufigsten und am meisten unterschätzten Erkrankungen gehören.
  3. Verringerung der Stigmatisierung von Personen mit Depression. Eine Depression ist kein Zeichen persönlicher Schwäche, sondern eine richtige Krankheit. Depressionen sind in breiten Bevölkerungskreisen immer noch ein Tabuthema. Dies kann dazu führen, dass Betroffene aus Angst vor gesellschaftlicher Ausgrenzung keine professionelle Hilfe in Anspruch nehmen. Durch gezielte und sachgerechte Information sollen herrschende Vorurteile gegenüber Depression in der Bevölkerung abgebaut werden.

Neben der Website umfasst die Sensibilisierungskampagne "Depression – Lass und darüber reden" fünf verschiedene Plakate, eine Informationsbroschüre über die Krankheit, Flyer zum Mitnehmen in Bussen, Banner als Werbeanzeigen im Internet, eine Roadshow und Postkarten zum Verschicken an Menschen, die uns wichtig sind, um an kleine Dinge zu erinnern, die die Stimmung heben können. Die Printmedien sind in fünf Sprachen erhältlich (Luxemburgisch, Französisch, Deutsch, Englisch und Portugiesisch) und können kostenlos beim Service Information et Prévention der Ligue bestellt werden.
Wir wünschen Ihnen auf unserer Webseite interessante Einblicke in das Thema Depression und sind offen für Anregungen und Ergänzungen zum Aufbau unserer Seiten.
Das Team vom Service Information et Prévention

Prévention Dépression Luxembourg